Lisa Morton

Author, Screenwriter, Halloween Expert…what's next?


Lisa Morton is a screenwriter, author of non-fiction books, and award-winning prose writer whose work was described by the American Library Association’s Readers’ Advisory Guide to Horror as “consistently dark, unsettling, and frightening”.  She is the author of four novels and more than 130 short stories, a six-time winner of the Bram Stoker Award®, and a world-class Halloween expert. She co-edited (with Ellen Datlow) the anthology Haunted Nights; other recent releases include Ghosts: A Haunted History and the collection The Samhanach and Other Halloween Treats. Lisa lives in Los Angeles.

Haunted Nights

This highly-acclaimed anthology (co-edited with Ellen Datlow) presents 16 new stories related to the darkest holiday of the year.

Find out more

The Samhanach and Other Halloween Treats

Collects four novellas - including the Bram Stoker Award-nominated The Samhanach - and a plastic jack-o'-lantern full of shorter tales.

Find out more

Ghosts A Haunted History

This study of ghosts throughout history and around the world was raved by The Times Literary Supplement ("brisk, handsomely illustrated"), The Washington Post ("abounds with phantasmic lore") and many more.

Find out more